RESEARCH TOOLS HOURS FLOOR PLANS DIRECTORY POLICIES SEARCH
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
SERVICES
Ask a Librarian
My Account / Renew Books
Interlibrary Loan Requests
Book a Room
LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
Library Tutorials
How Do I ...?
EVENTS & EXHIBITS
Calendar of Events
Library Exhibitions

Find An Article

This is a selective list of periodical indexes available online through the CMU Libraries. Other periodical indexes are available online, on CD-ROM, and in print in the Libraries. For assistance in selecting and using databases, please ask at the Reference desk, call (989) 774-3470, email libref@cmich.edu, or contact your subject bibliographer.

Off-campus access to library databases is available to current CMU students, faculty, and staff only.
AOL users must upgrade to version 8.0 or use a separate Web browser.

Use "Find an Article" to find articles by subject. If you already have a citation, use "Citation Linker".

OR Browse Indexes by Title


Online Search Guide Indicates that an online search guide is available.

General/ Multidisciplinary Years Covered
  Academic OneFile 1980-Present
  Alternative Press Index 1991-Present
  General Reference Center Gold 1980-Present
  Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
  Wilson Select 1994-Present
Art Years Covered
  Art Abstracts 1984-Present
  Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
Biology Years Covered
Online Search Guide Biological Abstracts 1980-Present
  Biological & Agricultural Index 1983-Present
Business Years Covered
  ABI INFORM 1923-Present
  Business Management 1995-Present
  Wilson Business Abstracts 1986-Present
News & Trade Information:  
  Business News Publications (LexisNexis) Varies by resource
  Markets and Industry News (LexisNexis) Varies by resource
Chemistry Years Covered
  SciFinder Scholar - Available at designated
workstations on the second floor of the
Park Library building.
1907-Present
Communication Years Covered
  Communication & Mass Media Complete 1915-Present
  PsycINFO 1887-Present
  Social Sciences Abstracts 1983-Present
Computer Technology Years Covered
  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983-Present
  Computer Database 1980-Present
  INSPEC 1969-Present
Economics Years Covered
  EconLit 1969-Present
  Social Sciences Abstracts 1983-Present
Education Years Covered
  CBCA Education - Focus on Canadian information 1986-Present
  Education Abstracts 1983-Present
  ERIC 1966-Present
Engineering Years Covered
  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983-Present
Electrical Engineering:  
  INSPEC 1969-Present
Geography Years Covered
  AGRICOLA 1970-Present
  GEOBASE 1980-Present
Geology Years Covered
  GeoRef 1785-Present
Health Sciences Years Covered
  CINAHL 1937-Present
  MEDLINE 1965-Present
  PubMed 1966-Present
Consumer Health:  
  Health and Wellness Resource Center Varies by resource
  Health Reference Center - Academic 1980-Present
  Health Source Varies by resource
Health Administration:  
  ABI INFORM 1972-Present
  Health Business Elite Varies by resource
Health Education:  
  CINAHL 1937-Present
  ERIC 1966-Present
History Years Covered
  America: History and Life 1964-Present
  Historical Abstracts 1954-Present
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
  Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective 1907-1984
  International Medieval Bibliography 1967-Present
Law Years Covered
  Law Reviews Varies by resource
  Legal News Publications Varies by resource
Literature Years Covered
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
  Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective 1907-1984
  MLA 1926-Present
  Philosopher's Index 1940-Present
Mathematics Years Covered
  MathSciNet 1940-Present
Music Years Covered
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
  Music Index Online 1976-Present
  RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 1967-Present
Newspapers Years Covered
  Ethnic NewsWatch 1990-Present
  Historical New York Times 1851-2003
  Infotrac Newspapers Varies by resource
  New York Times Index 2000-Present
  News (LexisNexis) Varies by resource
  Newsbank - Michigan 1999-Present
Philosophy Years Covered
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
  Philosopher's Index 1940-Present
Physics Years Covered
  INSPEC 1969-Present
Political Science Years Covered
  Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective 1907-1984
  Military & Government Collection 1901-Present
  PAIS International 1972-Present
  Political Science Abstracts 1975-Present
  Public Administration Abstracts 1974-Present
  Social Sciences Abstracts 1983-Present
Psychology Years Covered
  PsycINFO 1887-Present
  Social Sciences Abstracts 1983-Present
Religion Years Covered
  ATLA Religion 1949-Present
  Humanities Abstracts 1984-Present
Science & Technology Years Covered
  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts 1983-Present
  General Science Abstracts 1984-Present
  History of Science, Technology, and Medicine 1975-Present
Sociology & Anthropology Years Covered
  Abstracts in Anthropology 2001-Present
  Criminal Justice Abstracts 1968-Present
  Ethnic NewsWatch 1990-Present
  Gender Watch 1790-Present
  Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective 1907-1984
  Social Sciences Abstracts 1983-Present
  Social Services Abstracts 1980-Present
  Sociological Abstracts 1963-Present
Sports & Recreation Years Covered
  ERIC 1966-Present
  SPORT Discus 1800-Present
Women's Studies Years Covered
  Contemporary Women's Issues 1992-Present
  Gender Watch 1970-Present

 

Citation Indexes Years Covered
  Web of Science 1956-Present
Database Collections Years Covered
Online Search Guide FirstSearch Varies by database
  Gale Databases Varies by database
  LexisNexis Academic Varies by resource