RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Consumer Protection/Personal Finance

Content developed by:
Judy O'Dell, Reference Librarian/
Business, Economics, and Law Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-3787
E-mail:judith.o'dell@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 12/11/07

 

Associations and Organizations
  • Better Business Bureau
    Private non-profit organizations that provide reports on business firms, charity groups and organizations; help resolve disputes, and promote ethical standards.
  • Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
    Works at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.
  • Consumer WebWatch
    Purpose is to investigate, inform and improve the credibility of information published on the World Wide Web.
  • FED101
    Gives the history, structure and functions of the Federal Reserve System. You need flash and sound, or you can switch to an html version.
  • Tax Foundation
    The mission is to educate taxpayers about sound tax policy and the size of the tax burden borne by Americans at all levels of government.
top
Informaton Centers
top
Find an Article
  • ABI/Inform
    Index to periodical articles on all areas of business from U. S. and International publications. Covers 1971 to present and is updated weekly. Many articles are full text. CMU access only.
  • Business News
    Business articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, wires & transcripts. CMU access only.
  • Industry & Market News
    Search news sources by keyword and industry. CMU access only.
  • Wilson Business Abstracts
    International English-language business magazines, covering accounting, finance, management, and small business. Covers 1986 to present and is updated monthly. CMU access only.
top
Consumer Protection
  • Consumers International
    Supports, links and represents consumer groups and agencies all over the world.
  • econsumer.gov
    A joint project of the International Marketing Supervision Network and the Consumer Sentinel Network, and maintained by the U.S. Federal Trade Commission, it provides information about consumer protection laws and activities in participating countries plus online filing of complaints.
top
Investment News/Current Awareness
  • DRIP Central
    Offers a collection of links, articles, tutorials, and other resources, from all across the World-Wide Web.
  • Fund Alarm
    A free, non-commercial Website to help you decide when it's time to sell a fund, instead of when it's time to buy.
  • MarketWatch
    Business news, financial information and analytical tools.
  • Motley Fool
    The online forum is designed to help readers obtain financial information and discuss ways to make investment and personal financial decisions.
  • MSN Money
    News articles about investing and the market.
  • Path to Investing
    Teaches the basics of investing.
  • Form 4 EDGAR SEC filings
    Insider trading data monitoring service.
  • Smartstocks.com
    Provides a live stock game using real quotes, market analysis, news and sample portfolios for learning the stock market.
  • ValuePro
    Stock valuation program created from EDGAR data.
  • Yahoo Finance
    Find U. S Financial data with links to information from other countries.
top