| Associations and Organizations |
- American Bar Association
Provides law school accreditation, continuing education, programs, and information about the law.
- State Bar of Michigan
Promotes improvements in the administration of justice, advancements in jurisprudence, improving relations between the public and the legal profession, and promotes the interests of the legal profession in the State.
- Institute of Continuing Legal Educaton
Mission is to provide Michigan lawyers with accessible, high-quality, continuing legal education and resource materials that enable them to practice law more effectively.
- WashLaw WEB
List of U. S. bar and other legal associations.
- Worldwide Bar Associations
List of bar associations by region and country.
|
 |
| Law Schools and Rankings |
|
 |
| Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Thesauri |
- Duhaime's Law Dictionary
Intended for the world wide legal information community.
- Everybody's Legal Dictionary
Plain-English definitions for over a thousand legal terms, from the common to the bizarre.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law
LAW KF 154 W47 2005
- Zimmerman's Research guide
An Online Encyclopedia for Legal Researchers providing suggested sources for researching a variety of legal topics.
|
 |
| Directories |
|
 |
| Legal Citation |
|
 |
| Historical Documents |
|
 |
| Constitutions |
|
 |
| International Courts |
|
 |
| U. S. Federal Courts |
- Judges of the United States Courts
Contains the service record and biographical information for all judges who have served on major U.S. Courts since 1789.
- Supreme Court of the United States
General information about the court, biographies of current members, list of past justices, calender, rules, and recent opinions.
- Supreme Court Antitrust Debates
Teaching tool containing excerpts of antitrust cases between 1895 and 1993.
- The OYEZ Project
The Project provides abstracts and other materials for leading cases in constitutional law decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
- Federal Judiciary Homepage
Links to news, publications and web sites for the various federal courts throughout the U S.
- U.S. Federal Courts Finder
Organized by federal circuit, it provides links to fairly recent cases from federal appellate courts.
|
 |
| U. S. Executive Branch |
|
 |
| U. S. Congress |
- Open Congress
Brings together official government information with news and blog coverage to
give you the story behind what's happening in Congress. A free, open-source, non-profit, and non-partisan resource.
- U.S. House of Representatives
Overview of house members, committees, and other House organizations etc.
- U.S. Senate
Overview of senate members, committees, and other Senate activities.
- Thomas
Recent legislation, committee reports, issues of the Congressional Record and other related information.
|
 |
| Library of Congress |
|
 |
| Michigan Courts |
|
 |
| Michigan Executive Branch |
- Office of the Governor
Provides executive orders and links to other information related to the Govenor's office.
|
 |
| Michigan Legislature |
- Michigan House of Representatives
Lists representatives, addresses, committees, and other information about the House.
- Michigan State Senate
Lists senators, addresses, committees, and other information about the Senate.
- Michigan Legislative Information Web Server
Find laws, bills, calendars, Michigan Manual, and links to other government sites.
- State Law Library - Library of Michigan
Open to the public, the Library of Michigan provides in-person reference assistance and computer access to all who visit.
|
| Michigan Department of Attorney General |
|
 |
| Municipal Codes |
|
 |
| Rules/Forms |
|
 |
| Legal Research |
- Basic Legal Research
Find legal news; law reviews; federal and state case law, codes, and regulation. CMU access only.
- Lawyer's Guide to Fact Finding on the Internet
Books KF 242 A1 L48 2004
|
 |
| Find an Article |
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals-Law
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- Law Reviews
Find articles from law reviews and other scholarly journals. CMU access only.
- Legal News
Find articles from legal magazines, newspapers and newsletters. CMU access only.
- Social Science Abstracts
Indexes international, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law. Covers 1983 to present and in updated monthly. CMU access only.
|
 |
| Portals |
- American Law Sources On-line
Provides a uniform, and useful compilation of links to all free on-line sources of American law. Also has additional links to sources of free commentary and practice aids (or available at a reasonable charge from governmental and nonprofit providers).
- CataLaw
A catalog of catalogs of worldwide law on the Internet. It arranges all indexes of law and government into a uniform metaindex.
- EISIL: the Electronic Information System for International Law
Contains links to primary documents, recommended websites, and research guides.
- FindLaw
Extensive list of links to legal resources on the Internet.
- Guide to the Law Online
Produced by the Law Library of Congress and the Global Legal Information Network. It gathers the most useful and reliable online sites.
- Hieros Gamos
Comprehensive starting point for all law and law related information.
- Internet Legal Resource Guide
International index of web sites and files arranged by topic. Designed for everyone.
- Jurist: The Legal Education Network
A mega site of news, research and educational resources for professors, students, journalists, legal professional and the public.
- LawGuru.com
Links to an extensive number of legal research sites and is the new host for the Internet Law Library. Also provides news, and question & answer pages.
- LawMoose! World Legal Resource Center
A specialty search engine indexing a selection of valuable legal research sites.
- Law and Policy Institutions Guide
Directed at the legal profession, academia and the public, the Law and Politics Internet Guide is designed to be a one-stop source for legal research. It includes informative and current law related resources.
- Legal Information Institute
Provides links and references to sources of International, Federal, and New York State law. Of particular value is the overview of each topic or publication.
- SOSIG: Law Gateway
A U. K. based site provides acces to global legal information.
- Virtual Chase
Provides links to articles, research guides, and teaching tools.
- WashLaw WEB
Extensive listing of Internet legal resources by type or jurisdiction.
- Web Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research
Provides a selection of annotated links to the most reliable, substantive sites for U.S. Supreme Court research on th web.
- World Legal Information Institute
Free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility developed collaboratively.
- WWW Virtual Library--Law
Search by word or phrase, topic, or type of information.
|
 |
| Special Topics |
|
 |