|
| Internet Gateways |
|
|
 |
| Research Databases |
- Education Abstracts
Coverage of education topics from preschool through college in English-language periodicals and yearbooks.
- Elibrary Elementary
This database consists of newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio and video material, and transcripts.
- ERIC
Database of the Educational Resources Information Center. It contains annotated references to published and unpublished education-related literature.
|
 |
| Education Statistics |
- ChildStats.gov
This web site is maintained by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics. It offers access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
- Eurydice
This site is one of the definitive sources for education systems and policies throughout Europe. The site includes publications, statistics, bibliographic references, glossaries, and title lists.
- National Center for Educational Statistics
The NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other countries. The Digest of Education Statistics, which is a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education, is available at this web site, as is the Encyclopedia of ED Stats.
- The Nation's Report Card
"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), also known as "the Nation's Report Card," is the only nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Since 1969, assessments have been conducted periodically in reading, mathematics, science, writing, US history, civics, geography, and the arts."
- Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
A site dedicated to current education. It provides statistical information and country surveys related to current topics in the field of education.
- School Matters
"
Since its inception in 2001, as an independent, analytical resource for state and education leaders, Standard & Poor’s (S&P) School Evaluation Services has evolved and become a valuable resource for parents."
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
This site provides access to worldwide statistics gathered by UNESCO between 1970 and 1997. It covers such topics as literacy, expenditure, enrollment and staffing. More current information is available for purchase.
- UNESCO's International Bureau of Education Databanks
This site provides portals to world reports on educational projects and statistics.
- UNICEF
To locate information select the link in the upper left side labeled INFO BY COUNTRY. Browse by the region and country you wish to learn about. This site offers statistical information, country facts, and other publications related to the field of children's education.
- University of Michigan's Link to Education Statistical Resources on the Web
A scholarly site filled with links to educational statistics.
- US Census Bureau - Education Statistics
The US Census Bureau site provides statistical information on such topics as educational attainment (highest level of school completed), training/careers pursued, school costs, and school enrollment. The US Census Bureau also provides a web page for teachers which include lessons plans that use census data, maps, and background information about the history of census-taking.
- US Census Bureau - Statistical Abstract of the United States
The US Census Bureau site provides a collection of US statistics.
- US Department of Education Research & Statistics Links
This site provides links to a variety of reliable reports, studies, research organizations and government statistics in the field of education.
- USAID Global Education Database
USAID is an independent federal government agency. It makes available the "Global Education Database" as an interactive program for accessing education data compiled in over 60 developing countries since 1984. Topics include school enrollments, public expenditure on education, gender equity, adult literacy, primary and secondary school attainment, and primary and secondary school attendance.
- World Bank
The World Bank offers links to international topics, data and statistics, publications, news and events, and other related materials. It has a strong focus on the funding of education projects.
|
 |
| Salary Statistics |
- AFT - Teacher Salaries
The American Federation of Teachers' site provides surveys and analysis of teacher salary trends.
- NEA Salary Statistics
The National Education Association provides the starting and average teaching salary per state. Simply select the state you wish to inquire about.
|
 |
| Online Journals |
|
 |
| Dictionaries |
- Lexicon of Learning
The Lexicon of Learning is maintained by the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. It is designed to "provide clear definitions of educational terms."
|
 |
| Style Guides |
|
|
 |
| |
|