Homeschooling & Charter Schools
Content developed by:
Ruth Helwig Systems Librarian /
Education Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2404
E-mail: helwi1rm@cmich.edu
Internet Gateways | Resources | Research Databases | Online Journals | Style Guides
See also: K-12 Teacher's Resources
Last Updated: 11/21/08
Internet Gateways
- Education World: Where Educators Go To Learn
This site provides links to articles in the field of education, a large selection of lesson plans and activities, curriculum resources, technology and school issues resources. - Educator's Reference Desk (ERD)
ERD provides many resources such as resource guides, lesson plans, a question archive, and more! - MEL (Michigan Electronic Library)-Charter Schools
Section on Charter Schools & School Choice - Links to state and national resources on charter schools and schools of choice. - MEL (Michigan Electronic Library)-Homeschooling
Section on Home Schooling-Links to state and national resources on homeschooling. - Yahoo Resources on Charter Schools
Provides links to a variety of resources on charter schools. - Yahoo Resources on Homeschooling
Provides links to a variety of resources on homeschooling.
Resources
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
A website that offers a collection of more than 10,000 resources from the discipline related to child care and early education. - Central Michigan University Charter Schools Office
Provides background on the charter school initiative in Michigan. - Center for Educational Reform
The Center for Educational Reform is based in Washington DC and tracks and disseminates information on the charter school movement across the United States. - Homefires: The Journal of Homeschooling Online
Provides links to resources, materials, curriculum, articles and other practical resources for homeschooling. - Homeschooling Today
Provides a link to Homeschooling Today Magazine as well as links to organizations, web sites and lesson plans. - Homeschool World
Operated by the publishers of Practical Homeschooling, it provides links to homeschooling organizations, materials, articles, experts. This site also includes links to homeschooling groups in Michigan. - U.S. Charter Schools Organization
This site tracks and disseminates information on the charter school movement across the United States.
Research Databases
- Education Abstracts
Coverage of education topics from preschool through college in English-language periodicals and yearbooks. - Elibrary Elementary
This database consists of newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio and video material, and transcripts. - ERIC
Database of the Educational Resources Information Center. It contains annotated references to published and unpublished education-related literature. - Shamlu
This site bills itself as a "homeschooling resource directory." It provides links to a variety of resources of interest to homeschoolers.
Online Journals
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education
This resource links to 125 scholarly, peer-reviewed, free, full-text journals in the field of education.
Style Guides
- Links to web versions of APA, MLA, Turabian from the CMU Libraries web page