|
| Search Engines |
|
 |
| Internet Gateways |
|
 |
| Research Databases |
- Education Abstracts
Coverage of education topics from preschool through college in English-language periodicals and yearbooks.
- Elibrary Elementary
This database consists of newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio and video material, and transcripts.
- ERIC
Database of the Educational Resources Information Center. It contains annotated references to published and unpublished education-related literature.
- PsychInfo
Indexes professional journals that include coverage of learning and education.
|
 |
| Dictionaries |
- Lexicon of Learning
The Lexicon of Learning is maintained by the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. It is designed to "provide clear definitions of educational terms."
|
 |
| Style Guides |
|
 |
| Resources |
- Attention Deficit Disorder and Learning Disabilities
This site is a great overview of the characteristics of children with ADD and its diagnosis and treatment. it also provides a list of links for more information
- Blind Related Links
A good source of links to information about the blind and visually impaired.
- British Columbia Ministry of Education Special Education Resources
The site has several online resource documents for teachers. Topics include: visual impairments, hearing loss, gifted education, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, etc.
- Center for Applied Special Technologies (CAST)
"CAST is a not-for-profit education research and development organization that uses technology to make education more flexible and accessible for all students, especially those with disabilities."
- Center for the Study of Autism
The Center provides information about autism to parents and professionals, and conducts research on the efficacy of various therapeutic interventions.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
A website that offers a collection of more than 10,000 resources from the discipline related to child care and early education.
- Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (CHADD)
This site is a wonderful resource for parents, children, and teachers who seek information on education, advocacy, and support for individuals with AD/HD.
- Closing the Gap
This organization offers links to information and service providers, plus a searchable database of computer-related products for children and adults with special needs.
- International Dyslexia Association
The International Dyslexia Association (IDA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping individuals with dyslexia, their families and the communities that support them.
- Internet Mental Health
This site provides information on a variety of mental disorders. Created by Canadian psychiatrist, Dr. Phillip Long, it provides links to descriptions of mental disorders, links to research and publications, as well as links to other resources on the web.
- Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
LDA's site provides resources and links for parents, teachers, and professionals.
- LD OnLine: Learning Disabilities Resources
Here teachers can discover new ways to assist struggling students within inclusive classrooms and parents can learn how to be their child's best advocate.
- National Center for Learning Disabilities(NCLD)
"NCLD provides essential information to parents, professionals and individuals with learning disabilities, promotes research and programs to foster effective learning, and advocates for policies to protect and strengthen educational rights and opportunities."
- National Center for the Study of Adult Leaning and Literacy (NCSALL)
"The National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy (NCSALL) both informs and learns from practice. Its rigorous, high quality research increases knowledge and gives those teaching, managing, and setting policy in adult literacy education a sound basis for making decisions. NCSALL is also a leader in designing innovative professional development programs and in building support for research use."
- Solution Tree
Solution Tree provides resources to help those who work with youth, create safe and caring school, agencies, and communities where all children succeed.
- National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities
"NICHCY stands for the National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities. We serve the nation as a central source of information on: disabilities in infants, toddlers, children, and youth; IDEA, which is the law authorizing special education; No Child Left Behind (as it relates to children with disabilities); and research-based information on effective educational practices."
- One ADD Place
One ADD Place is a comprehensive site for research and information relating to Attention Deficit Disorder, AH/AD, and Learning Disorders (LD).
- SNOW: Special Needs Opportunity Windows
"SNOW is a project aimed at supporting educators of students with special needs. This web site serves as a clearinghouse of practical resources and curriculum materials, as a place for educators to meet and share ideas, and as a place for educators to develop their professional skills."
- The National Down Syndrome Society
This is a comprehensive, online information source about Down Syndrome.
- Through the Looking Glass
Extensive information and links for children and adults with a range of physical and developmental disabilities.
- U.S. Department of Education
Includes teaching materials, professional development resources, and ideas for administrators and suggestions for strengthening teacher quality.
- Wrightslaw (The Special Ed Advocate)
This site, by a special education attorney, provides parents, educators, and attorneys with advocacy information and special education law for children with disabilities.
|
 |
| Online Journals |
|
 |
| Organizations and Associations |
|
 |
|