RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Sites for Kids

Content developed by:
Ruth Helwig, Systems Librarian/
Counseling and Education Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2404
E-mail:helwi1rm@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 5/23/07

 

Search Engines
  • Ask for Kids
    A search engine designed to answer questions the way children ask them.
  • Yahooligans
    Yahoo resources for children.
top
Resources
  • Big Blue Bus Kid's Corner
    "Kid's Corner" is maintained by the Canadian Fisheries and Oceans department. It provides reading lists, teacher guides, activities and experiments related to the oceans and the environment. Check out the creature feature section.
  • Funbrain
    This site provides a wide range of games for children and resources for teachers.
  • Great Sites
    Directory of web sites compiled by the Children and Technology Committee of the American Library Association.
  • Kids on the Web
    "Kids on the Web" has been rated as a top site for kids and parents by the American Library Association. It includes information for and about kids.
  • Kids Read
     This web site is great for reading resources and books for kids.
  • Kids'Space
    This is a web site by kids for kids. It is maintained by the Kid's Space Foundation, a nonprofit children's educational foundation.
  • Kids Web
    Kids web is a digital library for kids. It is maintained by Syracuse University.
  • Mysteries of Egypt
    Discover the pyramids and pharaohs of this ancient African civilization.
  • Michigan E-library
    This site provides links to selected resources for kids.
  • PBS Kids
    Great resource for kids with many of their favorite PBS shows featured.
  • Sesame Street Music Works
    A site that allows children to listen to a variety of different music
  • Smithsonian Kids
    The Smithsonian Institute's fun on-line site for kids
  • Walking With Prehistoric Beasts
    Take a visit to the Discovery Channel's prehistoric zoo and find out about a killer bird as tall as you. You can also try your hand at being a paleontologist and reconstruct a beast from its bones.
  • Yuckiest Site on the Internet
    Online teaching resource which provides classroom ready activities and lessons for K-8.
top