Distance Education & Virtual K-12 Schools
Content developed by:
Ruth Helwig Systems Librarian /
Education Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2404
E-mail: helwi1rm@cmich.edu
Search Engines | Internet Gateways | Research Databases | Resources | Online Journals | Style Guides | Associations
See also: Counseling | K-12 Teacher's Resources | Special Education | Educational Administration | Funding | Homeschooling | Lesson Plans | Gifted and Talented Students | Sites for Kids
Last Updated: 11/21/08
Search Engines
- Yahoo - Education
Provides links to resources on K-12 distance (virtual) education.
Internet Gateways
- Education World: Where Educators Go To Learn
This site provides links to articles in the field of education, a large selection of lesson plans and activities, curriculum resources, technology and school issues resources. - Educator's Reference Desk (ERD)
ERD provides many resourses such as resource guides, lesson plans, a question archive, and more! - Michigan Electronic Library
Links to distance education sites.
Research Databases
- Education Abstracts
Coverage of education topics from preschool through college in English-language periodicals and yearbooks. - Elibrary Elementary
This database consists of newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio and video material, and transcripts. - ERIC
Database of the Educational Resources Information Center. It contains annotated references to published and unpublished education-related literature. - JSTOR
Designed to archive a few key journals in each discipline. Provides full-text of selected education journals. Does not include current years.
Resources
- Babbage Net School
Alternative high school offering online, interactive courses in English, math, science and social studies - California Distance Learning Program
K-8 public school - Christa McAuliffe Academy
Private school - Distance Education at a Glance
A set of guides for distance education based on the books Distance Education - Strategies and Tools and Distance Education - A Practical Guide by Barry Willis. - Michigan Virtual High School
Offerings to Michigan high school students and educators include advanced placement courses, electives, credit recovery, and professional development. - North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
High school courses, student enrichment programs and teacher workshops. - North Dakota Division of Independent Study
Fully accredited provider of over 150 high school and middle school distance education classes. Site includes sample courses for distance learning.
Online Journals
- Open Access Journals in the Field of Education
This resource links to 125 scholarly, peer-reviewed, free, full-text journals in the field of education.
Style Guides
- Links to web versions of APA, MLA, Turabian from the CMU Libraries web page
Associations
- Commonwealth of Learning
"The Commonwealth of Learning is an intergovernmental organization created by Commonwealth Heads of Government (Canada) to encourage the development and sharing of open learning/distance education knowledge, resources and technologies." - United States Distance Learning Association