|
| Museums and Galleries |
- Cleveland Museum of Art
Visit current exhibitions and works from the permanent collection.
- Detroit Institute of Arts
Contains over 300 images and offers full information on the museum collection, exhibitions, and special events. It is updated weekly and includes an archive of past exhibitions and events.
- Guggenheim Museum
Encompasses the collections and activities of the Guggenheim Museum in New York, the Guggenheim Museum in Soho, the Deutsche Guggenheim in Berlin, and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice.
- Heard Museum
A museum with an emphasis on the traditional cultures of the Greater Southwest and on the evolving Native American Fine Art Movement.
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Information about the museum as well as many images from its collections.
- Louvre Museum
Many images from the Louvre Museum in Paris.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
Includes an overview of collections, a floor plan and visitors guide.
- Minneapolis Institute of Arts
Site includes exhibition information and educational programs. Curriculum packages available online include World Mythology, Amazing Animals in Art, and Art in America.
- Museum of International Folk Art
A unit of the Museum of New Mexico and home to the world's largest collection of folk art from all over the world.
- Museum of Modern Art
Collections and museum information, as well as diverse subsites created or co-produced for the MOMA Web site. These projects explore some of the properties and possibilities of the Web, such as interactivity, motion, and sound.
- National Gallery of Art
Washington D.C.'s National Gallery features European and American paintings, sculpture and decorative arts.
- National Museum of Women in the Arts
Features a video tour of the permanent collection by the Museum's director.
- Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago
Offers images, a virtual museum, research studies, publications, indexes, and links solely devoted to the study of ancient Near East civilizations.
- Paleolithic Painted Cave at Vallon - Pont d'Arc
Recent archeological discovery in the Ardeche gorges in southern France.
- Philadelphia Museum of Art
Galleries, special exhibitions, events, and general information about the museum.
- The Prado Museum
Features highlights of its collections, museum information, and links to other Spanish and Latin American arts-related sites.
- Smithsonian
Information about the museum, activities, art galleries, research projects, special performances, and products.
- UCLA Fowler Museum of Cultural History
A museum which celebrates the culture and art of diverse cultures, especially those of Africa, Asia, Oceania, Native and Latin America. Site includes information on exhibits, educational programs, publications, and links to related sites.
- University Art Museum/Pacific Film Archive
The principal visual arts center of the University of California, Berkeley, offering a descriptive index of art, film, and cultural heritage online.
- The Utah Museum of Art at the University of Utah
Information on collections, numerous images, and many resources for teachers, including lesson plans and educational programs.
|
 |
| Art Education |
- National Art Education Association
Promotes art education on every level of instruction - early childhood, elementary, inter- mediate, secondary, college and university; also administration, museum education, and lifelong learning.
- Association for the Advancement of Art Education
- Arts Edge
A guide to art news, teaching materials and professional resources; maintained by the Kennedy Center.
- Getty Art Education Web Site
Includes sample lesson plans and curriculum ideas, as well as image galleries and exhibitions.
- Kinderart
A fun site with complete instructions and lesson plans for children's art projects.
- Art Site
Links to many useful sites on subjects of interest to art teachers.
|
 |
| Art History |
|
|
 |
| Art Therapy |
|
|
 |
| Ceramics |
|
|
 |
| Drawing |
|
|
 |
| Graphic Arts/Design |
|
|
 |
| Illustration |
|
|
 |
| Photography |
|
|
 |
| Prints and Printmaking |
|
|
 |
| Sculpture |
|
|
 |
| Watercolor |
- Watercolor Online
Information about all forms of watercolor, articles and tutorials, workshops, organizations and products.
- Handprint: Watercolors
One of the largest watercolor sites; includes reviews of brushes, papers, books, and more than 400 watercolor paints.
|
 |
| Weaving |
|
|
 |
| Web Galleries |
- Blue Rain Gallery
Native American artists representing their culture through pottery, painting, and sculpture.
- Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1200-1700), currently containing over 6,500 reproductions. Also includes biographies, commentaries and guided tours.
- Olga's Gallery - Online Art Museum
Collection of the works of some of the world's best artists, with high quality images, biographies, and historical comments.
- WetCanvas! Virtual Museum
Includes images and biographical notes on many great artists.
|
 |
| |
|