Genealogy Resources
Content developed by:
David B. Shirley,
Government Documents Librarian
Phone: (989) 774-3414
Email: David.B.Shirley@cmich.edu
Last Updated: 11/24/08
Genealogy
- Ancestry, Inc.
Contains many genealogy databases. The Social Security Death Index (SSDI) is available to search free of charge. Subscription databases may be searched at the Library of Michigan in Lansing. - Barrel of Genealogy Links
A resource for numerous links to genealogical websites. - Clarke Historical Library (CMU Libraries)
A comprehensive library for the history of Michigan and the Old Northwest Territory, Michigan documents, census microfilm, and other genealogical resources. - Cyndi's List
Comprehensive collection of Internet genealogy resources. Excellent starting point for your research. - Ellis Island Homepage
Official homepage of the Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation. - Family Tree Maker Online
Family Tree Maker provides several online genealogy classes as well as information about its software products. - Federation of Genealogical Societies
Homepage of the national organization. - Genealogy Home Page
Large collection of information for genealogists, plus information about ROOTS-L. - Genealogy Research at the Library of Michigan and the Archives of Michigan
- Genealogy Toolbox
Searchable query database, the Journal of Online Genealogy, and a list of genealogy links. - Michigan Electronic Library Genealogy Page
This basic list of genealogy links will help you start your research. - National Archives and Records Administration Genealogy Page
This page lists resources available at the National Archives and discusses how to access and interpret them. - National Genealogy Society
Information about the society and how to submit research requests. - New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS)
The homepage of one of the nation's largest genealogical organizations. - Rootsweb Genealogical Data Cooperative
Home of the ROOTS-L genealogy listserv and the Roots Surname List. - USGenWeb Project
Grassroots project to put genealogy information online for each county in the United States. Each state has a page listing types of records available. - Yourfamily.com
A list of web sites under individual surnames.