RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Patents Resources

Content developed by:
Judy O'Dell, Reference Librarian/
Business, Economics, and Law Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-4218
E-mail:judith.o'dell@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 8/2/07

 

Guides to General Information
  • Patent Information Users Group: Organization for Patent Search Professionals
    In addition to information about the organization, the homepage provides links to web sites established by producers/vendors and other web sites pertaining to patents and intellectual property. The Knowledge Base/FAQ link provides useful information about filing and searching for patent information.
  • Patent & Trademark Depository Library
    This is a guide to the services and resources available at the Timme Library. Ferris State University which is a federally designated patent and trademark deposit library. It includes links to resources such as inventor's online resources, sites for limited online searching of patents, and international patent offices and libraries.
top
Searching for Patents
  • The United States Patent and Trademark Office
    The Patent and Trademark Office is the government office that grants patents and registers trademarks. The web sit facilitates this process by providing information about the filing process, links to relevant offices/agencies, forms, and a series of searchable databases.
  • Patent Research-Lexis-Nexis Academic
    A subset of the Legal Research section, Patent Research includes three files for researching patent information. The patent file provides subject access to U S patents since 1971. The patent number file provides access to patents by patent classification number and the patent manual file is the electronic version of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Manual of Classification. CMU access only.
top