|
| Background Information - Reference Books in the Library |
| Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks
- Encyclopedia of anthropology
REF GN11 .E63 2006
- Dictionary of anthropology REF GN11 .D48 1986
- Dictionary of concepts in physical anthropology REF GN50.3 .S74 1991
- Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology REF GN307 .E52 1996
- Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology Topics (coming soon)
- Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology REF GN307 .E527 1996t
- Encyclopedia of world cultures Reference; GN307 .E53 1991
- Historical dictionary of North American archaeology REF E77.9 .H57 1988
- History of physical anthropology : [an encyclopedia] GN50. 3. S64 1997
- Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life / Timothy L. Gall, editor.; Reference; GN333 .W67 1998
- Handbook of ethnography GN345 .H365 2001
- Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology GN345 .H37 1998
- Handbook of medical anthropology : contemporary theory and method GN296 .M423 1996
- Society, culture, leisure, and play : an anthropological reference GN357 .S25 2000
Others
- Catalog to manuscripts at the National Anthropological Archives
- Catalogue: authors
- Catalogue: subject
- Fieldwork in the library : a guide to research in anthropology and related area studies REF GN42 .W47 1994x
- Finding the source in sociology and anthropology : a thesaurus-index to the reference collection REF HM51 .B76 1987x
- History of anthropology : a research bibliography REF Z5111 .K44
- Leaders in anthropology : the men and women of the science of man REF GN20 .K55 1974x
- Student anthropologist's handbook; a guide to research, training, and career REF GN42 .F7
Archaeology related
- Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia REF E77.9 .A72 1998
- Cambridge encyclopedia of archaeology REF CC165 .C3 1980
- Collins dictionary of archaeology REF CC70 .C58 1993
- Dictionary of terms and techniques in archaeology REF CC70 .C48 1980b
- Encyclopedia of archaeology. History and discoveries REF CC100 .E54 2001
- Encyclopedia of the history of classical archaeology REF DE5 .E5 1996
- Illustrated encyclopedia of archaeology REF CC70 .I44
- Introduction to library research in anthropology REF Z5111 .W44 1998
- Oxford companion to archaeology REF CC70 .O96 1996
- Oxford encyclopedia of archaeology in the Near East REF DS56 .O9 1997
- Past worlds : the Times atlas of archaeology REF G1046.E15 P3 1988
Indians of North American
- America's ancient treasures : a guide to archaeological sites and museums in the United States and Canada REF E56 .F64 1983
- American Indian biographies REF E 89 .A46 1999
- American Indian, 1492-1976 : a chronology & fact book REF E77 .D393 1976
- Archaeology of prehistoric native America : an encyclopedia REF E77.9 .A72 1998
- Atlas of American Indian affairs REF G1201.E1 P7 1990
- Chronology of native North American history : from pre-Columbian times to the present REF E77 .C555 1994
- Concise dictionary of Indian tribes of North America REF E76.2 .L44
- Contemporary native American artists REF N6538.A4 R45 1995t
- Encyclopedia of American Indian costume REF E98.C8 P37 1994
- Encyclopedia of Native American biography : six hundred life stories of important people from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller REF E89 .J69 1997
- Encyclopedia of Native American economic history REF E 98 .E2 E52 1999
- Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America REF E98 .M4 L98 1998
- Gale encyclopedia of Native American tribes REF E77 .G15 1998
- Handbook of North American Indians REF E77 .H25
- Historical dictionary of North American archaeology REF E77.9 .H57 1988
- Guide to research on North American Indians REF Z1209.2.N67 H57 1983
- Indians of North America : methods and sources for library research REF Z1209 .H22 1983
- Native America in the twentieth century : an encyclopedia REF E76.2 .N36 1994
- Native American literatures : an encyclopedia of works, characters, authors, and themes REF PS153.I52 W47 1999
- Native Canadian anthropology and history : a selected bibliography REF E78.C2 K73 1994x
- North American Indian, being a series of volumes picturing and describing the Indians of the United States and Alaska REF E77 .C98
- North American Indian; List of large plates supplementing volumes one-twenty REF E77 .C98 suppl
- Notable native Americans REF E89 .N67 1995
- Our native Americans and their records of genealogical value REF Z1209.2.N67 K57
- Reference encyclopedia of the American Indian REF E76.2 .R4 2000t
- Word dance : the language of native American culture REF E76.2 .W36 1994
|
 |
| Selected Journals in the Library |
|
|
 |
| Research Databases |
- Abstracts in Anthropology Indexes several hundred periodicals that cover a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics including man's speech, physiology, artifacts, history, environment, and social relations are described, analyzed, interpreted, and compared within the human and animal realms.
- Anthropological Index Online the Anthropological Index Online is based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The British Museum (formerly Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers around the world.
- Sociological Abstracts
- EHRAF the eHRAF Collection of Archaeology is a cross-cultural database that currently contains nearly 60,000 pages of information on the world's prehistory; the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- JSTOR Search anthropology and archaeology journals
- PAIS includes cultural anthropology publications
- American History and Life
the coverage is Prehistory-Present
- Archaeology Data Service
A virtual library of on-line publications concerned with the historic environment. The database includes books, bibliographies, journals, and other resources. To access, users must first accept the terms of use on ADS's front page.
- CSAC Anthropology Bibliography
Produced by the Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing, this database is the result of collaborative data sharing by many people. It covers the general field of social anthropology in its broadest sense.
- National Anthropological Archives
This collection represents the four fields of anthropology - ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical anthropology. It includes manuscripts, fieldnotes, correspondence, photographs, maps, sound recordings, film and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other preeminent scholars.
|
 |
| Writing & Style Guides |
|
|
 |
| Internet Gateways |
Michigan Archaeology
Web Sources
- American Anthropologist Journal Archive
- Anthropology collections
The California Academy of Sciences Anthropology Department collects artifacts over 17,000 objects with Internet-accessible catalog records accompanied by 7,000 digital images including materials of the indigenous cultures of western North America (exclusive of Mexico) and of the Pacific Rim, East Asia and all Pacific Islands.
- Archaeology Data Service
Access to the digital corpora of archaeological archives, collections, and publications for Great Britain and Ireland.
- Anthropology Home Page
Maintained by the Behavioral Sciences Department of Palomar College, this gateway contains definitions of anthropological terms and annotated links to Internet resources.
- Campfire stories with George Catlin: an encounter of two cultures
The Smithsonian Institution has used its collections of paintings by 19th-century artist George Catlin to develop an award-winning Web site aimed at teaching Native American history and culture.
- Council for British archaeology online
The Web site provides unparalleled access to up-to-date information on archaeology in the United Kingdom.
- Electronic cultural atlas initiative
"The only problem with this Web site based at the Univ. of California, Berkeley's international and area studies department is that it is so beautiful, entertaining, and educational that viewers will be hard-pressed to force themselves to leave it." [M. L. Larsgaard, Choice]
- Giza Archives Project
This interactive Web resource from the Boston Museum of Fine Arts (MFA). Giza is best known for the great pyramids of Old Kingdom pharaohs. The Web site is based on the museum's vast holdings of pictures, field notes, plans, and artifacts from the MFA-Harvard excavation (1902-47) directed by George Reisner.
- Images of Native Americans
- LSU Libraries - Anthropology Subject Guide
This site is produced by the Louisiana State University Department of Geography and Anthropology. It includes a reference materials section as well as an annotated list of online resources.
- InteractiveDig produced by the Archaeological Institute of America's flagship journal "Archaeology," offers archaeological projects in near-real time.
- New York Times Archaeology and Anthropology section
- Resources in Ethnographic Studies
- SAA Archaeological Record
Maintained by the Library of Congress, this site consists of a directory of Internet resources in anthropology, ethnomusicology, folklore, and folklife.
- Unmasking the Maya: the story of Sna Jtz'ibajom
Created by Smithsonian Institution researchers, Sna Jtz'ibajom is a theater collective using Maya traditional tales to address contemporary political conditions of Maya people.
- The World-Wide Web Virtual Library: Anthropology
This extensive gateway offers an advanced search feature, interactive options, and many other sophisticated capabilities.
|
 |
| Organizations |
|
|
 |
| |
|