RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Political Science
Comparative Politics & International Relations

Content developed by:
Rui Wang, Reference Librarian/
Social Science Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-4218
E-mail:wang1r@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 8/2/07

 

Background Information - Reference Books in the Library

Encyclopedias and dictionaries:

  • Clements' encyclopedia of world governments (REF JF37 .C53)
  • Encyclopedia of Soviet life / by Ilya Zemtsov.; Reference; JA64.R8 Z44 1991
  • Encyclopedia of war crimes and genocide HV6322.7 .H67 2006
  • Encyclopedia of world political systems JF51 .D465 2000
  • International encyclopedia of elections (REF JF 1001 .I57 2000)
  • International encyclopedia of public policy and administration (REF H97 .I574 1998)
  • World encyclopedia of parliaments and legislatures REF JF511 .W67 1998
  • World encyclopedia of political systems and parties (REF JF 2011 .W67 1999)
  • Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations (REF G63 .W67 2001t)
  • Dictionary of British politics JN11 .J66 2004
  • Dictionary of politics : selected American and foreign political and legal terms (REF JA61 .R39 1978)
  • Dictionary of the political thought of the People's Republic of China JQ1501.A25 H4 2001
  • Oxford companion to politics of the world (REF JA61 .O95 2001)

Others:

  • Far Eastern politics : China, Japan, Korea, 1950-1975 : an index to International political science abstracts volumes 1 to 25 (JA36 .I5 Suppl) index
  • Governments of the world : a student companion (REF JF127 .P56 1998)
  • Index to international public opinion (REF HM261 .I552)
  • International brief (online)
  • International handbook of political science (REF JA71 .I57)
  • International year book and statesmen's who's who (REF JA51 .I57)
  • Middle East Abstracts and index (Index DS41 .M44)
  • Political handbook of the world (REF JF37 .P6)
  • Political parties of the Middle East and North Africa (REF JQ1758.A979 P65 1994)
  • Political parties of the Americas : Canada, Latin America, and the West Indies (REF JL195 .P64 1982)
  • Political parties of the world (REF JF2051 .D39)
  • Political role of the military : an international handbook (JF195.C5 P67 1996)
  • Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific REF HA1665 .S73x
  • Times guide to the nations of the world : history, politics, geography, statistics, maps and flags (REF G122 .T55 1994)
  • Times yearbook of world affairs (REF D410 .T55x 1978)
top
Selected Journals in the Library
top
Research Databases
  • PAIS International
    Chronicling global public policy and social issues including education policy, health condition policy, labor conditions and policy, social conditions and policy, and population policy etc. The information is drawn from over 3,600 sources and covers from 1972 to present. 
  • Political Science Abstracts
    Abstracts of materials from public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books devoted to politics and political analysis from 1975 to the present.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The Military & Government Collection™ provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.
  • Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1974-Current
    Political science, American government, policy studies
  • LexisNexis - News
    International news and non-English language sources.
  • LexisNexis - World Almanac & Book of Facts
  • GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications - CMU has been a US Federal Depository Library since 1958).
    Covering US government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)
top
Internet Gateways
Countries International Topics Related Sites
top