Sociology Resources
Content developed by:
Rui Wang Reference Librarian/
Social Science Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-4218
E-mail:wang1r@cmich.edu
Reference Books | Research Databases | Selected Journals | Writing & Style Guides | Internet Gateways | Organizations
Last Updated: 9/11/08
Background Information - Reference Books in the Library
Encyclopedias:
- Blackwell encyclopedia of sociology REF HM425 .B53 2007
- Encyclopedia of sociology (REF HM 425 .E5 2000)
- Encyclopedia of social theory / editor George Ritzer.; Reference:NON-CIRC. ; HM425 .E47 2005
- Encyclopedia of social theory REF HM425 .E47 2005
- Encyclopedia of social issues (REF HN57 . E59 1997)
- Encyclopedia of modern separatist movements HM 716 .H48 2000
- International encyclopedia of sociology (REF HM17 .I53 1984)
Handbooks
- The Cambridge handbook of sociocultural psychology HM1033 .C34 2007
- The handbook of economic sociology HM548 .H25 2005
- The handbook of group research and practice HM716 .H35 2005
- The handbook of political sociology : states, civil societies, and globalization JA76 .H383 2005
- Handbook of population Ref HB871 .H3447 2005
- Handbook of self and identity BF697 .H345 2003
- Handbook of the sociology of gender HQ1075 .C47 1999
- Handbook of sociological theory HM585 .H36 2001
- Sage handbook of sociology HM586 .S24 2005
- Social psychology : handbook of basic principles HM1033 .S637 2007
Dictionaries:
- Sage dictionary of sociology REF HM425 .B78 2006 Cambridge dictionary of sociology REF HM425 .C36 2006 Max Weber dictionary : key words and central concepts / Richard Swedberg with the assistance of Ola Agevall.; Books:CHECK SHELF ; HM425 .S94 2005
- Blackwell dictionary of sociology : a user's guide to sociological language (REF HM425 .J64 2000) (REF HV12 .T54 1982)
- Encyclopedic dictionary of sociology (REF HM17 .E52 1991x)
- Thesaurus of sociological indexing terms (REF HM17 .B66 1992x)
- Dictionary of statistics & methodology : a nontechnical guide for the social sciences (REF HA17 .V64 1999)
- Student sociologist's handbook (REF HM68 .B37 1986)
Research Databases
Disciplinary databases
- Sociological Abstracts
Index in sociology and related disciplines includes citations to articles, books, and book chapters. - Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1967-Current
Contemporary sociology, comparative sociology, consumer culture
Other databases as needed
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
- ERIC
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gender Watch
- PAIS International
- Political Science Abstracts
- PsycINFO
Browsing Journals in the Library
- Annual review of sociology
- Acta sociologica online
- AJS. American journal of sociology online
- American sociological review online
- Contemporary sociology online
- Critical sociology online
- Current sociology online
- Inquiry online
- Journal of contemporary ethnography online
- Social psychology quarterly online
- Social theory and practice
- Sociological focus
- Sociological inquiry
- Sociological perspectives online
- Sociological quarterly online
- Sociological review online
- Sociological spectrum : the official journal of the Mid-South Sociological Association online
- Sociology online
- Sociology of religion
- Theory and society online
Research
- Quality & quantity online
- Qualitative sociology online
- Social science research online
- Sociological methods and research online
- Review of economic statistics online
Social problem
Writing & Style Guides
- Style guides
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (REF BF76 .7 .P83 2001) at the reference desk
- APA Style Electronic References
- ASA style guide / American Sociological Association. (REF HM73 .A54 1997t)
- Chicago manual of style (REF Z253 .U69 1993) at the reference desk
- ICPSR Citing Electronic Data Files
- Sociology student writer's manual (REF HM73 .S637 2000)
Internet Gateways
- Verstehen: Max Weber's HomePage
- Marxism Page
- C. Wright Mills' HomePage
- SocioSite: Sociological Subject
The site is created by sociologists around the world for scholarly communication.
Organizations
- American Sociological Association
- Midwest Sociological Society
- Mid-South Sociological Association
- Pacific Sociological Association
- Southern Sociological Society
- Society for the Study of Symbolic Interaction
- Inter-University Consortium for International Social Development (IUCISD)
- Australian Sociological Association
- British Sociological Association
- International Sociological Association