RESEARCH TOOLS
CENTRA - Libraries' Catalog
Find an Article
Citation Linker
Virtual Reference Collection
Research Guides
Ask a Librarian

Women's Studies Resources

Content developed by:
Beth Macleod, Reference Librarian/
Women's Studies Bibliographer
Phone: (989) 774-2166
E-mail:beth.macleod@cmich.edu

Last Updated: 6/5/08

 

Women's Studies
  • Contemporary Women's Issues
    A full-text database that provides access to periodical articles and many other sources of information about women. Scope is international.
  • Gender Watch
    A full-text database of information on women's and gender issues. Sources include journal and magazine articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents.
  • FeMiNa
    A World Wide Web directory for women and girls. Links to online sources on a wide range of topics including art, business, education, entertainment and politics. Called "the Yahoo of women's links."
  • Corelists in Women's Studies
    A series of bibliographies compiled by the Association of College and Research Libraries, Women's Studies Section, covering a wide range of topics related to women. Bibliographies are made up only of books that are in print. Updated annually.
  • Feminist Majority Online
    Sponsored by the Feminist Majority organization. Focuses on political awareness. Includes current political activities, news briefs, bibliographies, and lists of recent publications, directories, and much more.
  • National Organization for Women
    NOW homepage includes general information about the organization, its structure, history, and activities, along with issues of the National NOW Times. Lots of information on current political and social issues affecting women.
  • The "Second Wave" and Beyond
    Four distinguished female scholars- Stephanie Gilmore, Kimberly Springer, Judith Ezekiel and Sherri Barnes- edit this well-designed website. It provides images, oral histroy collections, book reviews, and links to other feminist Web sites. One particularly useful feature is the link to university archives, including detailed descriptions of women's history holdings. There are also links to teaching resources, including syllabi and the treatment of sensitive topics, which would be helpful for new instructors.
  • United Nations Fourth World Conference on Women
    United Nations and government information on the World Conference on Women. Includes platform document, resolutions, texts of statements, and declarations from various caucuses.
  • Voice of the Shuttle: Gender Studies Page
    Guide with links to a variety of online gender studies resources including essays, bibliographies, book reviews, directories and magazines. Includes section on women's studies and feminist theory.
  • U. S. Department of Labor. Women's Bureau
    Information about the Women's Bureau, its publications and activities as well as labor related data pertaining to women.
  • Women's Studies (R)E-sources on the Web
    An extensive list of links to homepages for women's organizations and women's resources websites. Also included are many sources and links in the area of women's history.
  • Women's Studies Database
    From the University of Maryland, covers the women's studies field and women's issues in general. Includes conference announcements, government documents, calls for papers, employment opportunities, film reviews, bibliographies and much more. Has a large database of online texts.
  • Women Working, 1800 - 1930
    Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets as well as 1,200 photographs.
top